To begin with, this isn’t an insightful, inspirational, introspective post just a reminder and update. Last year I announced that I would be running a full marathon and keep everyone updated. I lied – kind of. Last year was an odd year; one of growth but also one of many failures.

So just to give you a few updates:

  1. I dyed my hair (shout out to Gabryelle Shultz from EU and Ray from Ba’Dazz Salon)!!!
  2. Around mid-November (Thanksgiving) my marathon training went down the drain and I decided to scale my run down to a half marathon.
  3. I will not be graduating in May but in December
  4. I have no idea what my next step is (but I’m ok with it)

As I have been training for this half marathon I have realized that if I ever had any desire to become a foot model (I don’t) I won’t be able to. I have had blisters and currently have calluses (I am in dire need of a pedicure) from running. Training has been tough, and there are days where the only time I have to train is 5 am – and I don’t think I will ever be one of those people who loves waking up super early to run romantically into the sunrise (if you are, good for you). I also enjoy eating good and yummy food and don’t know if I can ever be a runner who lives on eggs and protein bars. I have also realized that my body is stronger than I originally thought it was – if I can run literally anyone can run.

All this to say I’m very nervous and excited for my race! And while I won’t ever be able to be a foot model – I’ll have killer legs.

P.S. My race is in St. Louis on April 9 (Palm Sunday), if you would like to join me at the Finish Line – I’d love to have you there.

Leave a Reply

